Conference Culturo-Futuro! Beyond the limits of imagination


The aim of the meeting was to confront various visions of the development of culture, society and humanity in the face of dynamic changes of the civilisation, technology and society. The starting point for reflection was Roman Pawłowski’s book titled Bitwa o kulturę #przyszłość (Battle for culture #future), published by Teatr Stary in Lublin and Wydawnictwo Krytyki Politycznej. The speakers: artists, theorists and other invited guests presented their perspectives on the future of culture and art.

Among the artists who took part in the discussion panels were Zbigniew Libera, Wojciech Blecharz and Karina Smigla-Bobinski. The inaugural lecture was delivered by Krystian Lupa. In the practical part, the invited artists and curators presented their works or artistic ideas focusing on one day in the future. The effects of their work were shown on the second day of the conference. The event was an attempt to reclaim the future and defend the right to dreaming. We wanted to look for answers to questions about the possible scenarios for culture’s future. The reason for it was the belief that culture is more than economics, politics, science and technology combined, because it determines why humans use these complex tools.


CURATORS: Roman Pawłowski, Edwin Bendyk

OPENING LECTURE: Krystian Lupa – Przyszłość teatru, sztuki, artysty

VOICES TO LECTURE: Zbigniew Libera, Weronika Szczawińska, Marius Ivaškevičius

MODERATION: Roman Pawłowski

BLOCK I – culture 3.0
PRESENTATION: Ana Brzezińska
DEBATE: Ana Brzezińska, Wojciech Orliński,
BLOCK MODERATION: Roman Pawłowski, Edwin Bendyk

BLOCK II – What an artist the future? What is the future of the artist?
PRESENTATION: Gareth Owen Lloyd
DEBATE: Wojciech Blecharz, Gareth Owen Lloyd, Karina Smigla-Bobinski

BLOCK III – Cultural wars and cultural revolutions
PRESENTATION: Karina Smigla-Bobinski
DEBATE: Przemysław Czapliński, Karina Smigla-Bobinski
BLOCK MODERATION: Roman Pawłowski, Edwin Bendyk

PRESENTATIONS OF WORKS OF HACKATON’S PARTICIPANTS : Alicja Patanowska i Piotr Blajerski, Aleksandra Wałaszek i Marcin Fajfruk, Agata Kalinowska i Ewa Zwarycz, Dominika Łabądź i Michał Gdak, Fabien Lédé i Gregor Różański, Dy Tagowska i Piotr Kmita
SUMMARY: Magdalena Piekarska, Przemysław Witkowski